Your Cart


Your cart is empty

Massive Attack - No Protection

Massive Attack: No Protection (CD)


Massive Attack

$11.99 Free Shipping

Music Genre
Media Format
Audio CD

Awaiting stock from our suppliers

Buy Add to my wish list


Protection was widely considered a disappointing follow-up to Massive Attack's groundbreaking debut, Blue Lines. Where their debut bent all of the conventional hip-hop, dub reggae, and soul rules, Protection essentially delivered more of the same. Perhaps that's the reason why Mad Professor's remix of the album, No Protection, was welcomed with open arms by both Massive Attack fans and critics. Mad Professor has returned the group to their experimental, cut-and-paste dub reggae and hip-hop roots. He has gutted the songs -- twisting and reassembling the vocal tracks, giving the songs deeper, fuller grooves and an eerily seductive atmosphere. In other words, he has made Protection into a more daring and fulfilling album with his remixes. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine, AMG

Product Details

Massive Attack
Label / Studio
Recording Environment
Media Content Format
Original year of release
Number of Discs
Year of release
Cast & Crew
Massive Attack (Guest Artist)
The Mad Professor (Guest Artist)
Mad Professor (Music Performer)
Massive Attack (Producer)
Nellee Hooper (Producer)

Press Reviews

4 Stars - Excellent - "...The trio must have known something was off, because only months after releasing PROTECTION, it took the unprecedented step of having the dub icon Mad Professor do this remixed version of the album....The difference is astonishing... Rolling Stone (5/16/96, p.64)

Included on Spin's list of the "10 Best Albums You Didn't Hear In '95." - "...NO PROTECTION represents two of 1995's most underappreciated trends: dub's third coming, and musicians--from Jon Spencer to (soon) Yoko Ono--waving goodbye to the `integrity' of their product. Spin (1/96, p.64)


Disc 1:

  1. Radiation Ruling the Nation (Protection)
  2. Bumper Ball Dub (Karmacoma)
  3. Trinity Dub (Three)
  4. Cool Monsoon (Weather Storm)
  5. Eternal Feedback (Sly)
  6. Moving Dub (Better Things)
  7. I Spy (Spying Glass)
  8. Backward Sucking (Heat Miser)